The Predators have released their protected players list ahead of the NHL Expansion Draft.

Story written by Mark Harris

Heading into this time period of teams having to submit their protected player list, most assumed that the Predators would go the route of protecting eight skaters and one goaltender and that is indeed the route they took. We also received news Saturday evening that Calle Jarnkrok was indeed on the protected player list that had to be submitted late Saturday afternoon leaving the fate of James Neal and others a mystery.

Here is the list of the players Nashville elected to protected, per the Preds: Ryan Johansen, Viktor Arvidsson, Filip Forsberg, P.K. Subban, Ryan Ellis, Roman Josi, Mattias Ekholm and Jarnkrok. Pekka Rinne had to be protected due to his contract.

This leaves the likes of Pontus Aberg, Cody Bass, Vernon Fiddler, Mike Fisher, Cody McLeod, James Neal, PA Parenteau, Adam Payerl, Mike Ribeiro, Miikka Salomaki, Colton Sissons, Craig Smith, Trevor Smith, Austin Watson, Colin Wilson, Harry Zolnierczyk, Taylor Aronson, Anthony Bitetto, Stefan Elliott, Petter Granberg, Brad Hunt, Matt Irwin, Andrew O’Brien, Adam Pardy, Jaynen Rissling, Scott Valentine, Yannick Weber and Marek Mazanec unprotected.

These notable players are exempt from being selected by the Golden Knights: Kevin Fiala, Frederick Gaudreau, Vladislav Kamenev and Juuse Saros.

It is worth noting that it has been reported that General Manager David Poile is trying to strike a deal with the Golden Knights to protect a player the Predators want to keep in Nashville.

Vegas has until 9 a.m. CST on Wednesday to compile their roster, which will be announced that evening during the NHL Awards in Las Vegas.

Here are the lists from every team around the league.